Litke Elected As President Of ASHA

Alberta Standardbred Horse Association
Published: April 22, 2024 03:01 pm EDT

The Alberta Standardbred Horse Association (ASHA) held its annual general meeting and elected its new board of directors on Saturday, April 20.

Bret Litke

Bret Litke of Edmonton, Alta. was elected as the President of ASHA. Litke will serve his first two-year term as ASHA President after previously serving as a board director.  

Litke is a proud Edmontonian, deeply rooted in Alberta's harness racing scene from a young age. Growing up in the backstretch, Litke absorbed the ins and outs of the industry under the tutelage of his parents, Daryl Litke and Marilyn Allen. With a lifetime of experience, Bret Litke has worn many hats in the world of harness racing, from groom to trainer to owner. Presently, he dedicates his expertise to training two horses, a passion project he shares with his father.

Alongside his harness racing pursuits, Litke has cultivated a successful career with the Government of Alberta spanning over a decade. As a manager within the Jobs, Economy and Trade Ministry, he specializes in steering various IT projects to success. His professional journey has included pivotal roles as a business and policy analyst across diverse program areas, leveraging his keen insights and strategic acumen. Litke's academic foundation is rooted in Professional Communications.

In his free time, Litke enjoys exploring the great outdoors and hiking the river valley with his fiancée, Candace Campbell, and their beloved chocolate lab, Bailey.

In addition to the President, the following new members were elected:

  • Jamie Gray – Vice President  (2024-2026)
  • John Hind – Secretary/Treasurer (2024-2026)
  • Bill Andrew – Breeders Chair (2024-2026)
  • Derek Stout – Owners Chair (2024-2026)
  • Kevin Hildebrandt – Director, one-year term (2024-2025)
  • Jackson Wittup – Director, two-year term (2024-2026)
  • JF Gagne - Director, two-year term (2024-2026)
  • Logan Gillis – Director, two-year term (2024-2026)

Returning ASHA board members include:

  • Brandon Campbell – Drivers/Trainers Chair (2023-2025)
  • Jacques Lambert – Director, two-year term (2023-2025)

Elections were also held for the Breeders Committee. Bill Andrew, co-owner of Meridian Farms, one of the most successful breeding operations in Canada, was elected Breeders Chair.

A release from ASHA stated that, "Building Alberta’s horse population is a strategic priority for ASHA and having Bill's wealth of knowledge and expertise will be a significant asset to the board as well as the Breeders Committee."

In addition to the election of Andrew as the new committee chair, the following committee members were elected:

  • Dr. Jordan Cook – three-year term, ending 2027
  • Nancy Tamblyn – three-year term, ending 2027
  • Evelyn Sabraw – three-year term, ending 2027

Returning Breeders Committee members include:

  • Donna Wyse – two years remaining, ending in 2026
  • Shawna Griffin – two years remaining, ending in 2026
  • Carl Archibald – two years remaining, ending in 2026
  • Derek Stout – one year remaining, ending in 2025
  • Shelly Arsenault – one year remaining, ending in 2025
  • Marjorie Dumont – one year remaining, ending in 2025

(With files from ASHA)

Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.