view counter
view counter

Saint John 2011 Awards Presented


Published: April 21, 2012 9:42 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

The Saint John Harness Horsemen's Annual Awards Banquet was held on Saturday night at the Howard Johnson's Top of the Town to honour 2011's best in harness racing.

The 2011 SJHHA award winners are listed below:

Two-Year-Old Filly of the Year
A As Glory
Owner/Breeder: Andrew Ward
Trainers: Andrew Ward and Gilles Barrieau

Two-Year-Old Colt of the Year
Big League
Owner: Dooley Boys Racing Stable
Trainer: Sean Dooley

Three-Year-Old Filly of the Year
Moon Landing
Owner/Trainer: Patrick Eastwood

Three-Year-Old Colt of the Year
Owners: Dooley Boys Racing Stables
Trainer: Sean Dooley

Claiming Horse & Gelding of the Year
Owner/Trainer: Brian Foster
Driver: Mark Haig

Claiming Mare of the Year
IWish IWish
Owner: Peter Trecartin and Lindsay Kokotailo
Trainer: Peter Trecartin

Old Time Robbi Award
Md Hardlys Success
Owner: Bill Smith and Wayne Watson
Trainer: Andrew Ward

Most Improved Award
Magical Alex
Owners: Bob MacNeil and John Lavric
Trainer: Bob MacNeil

Magical Alex, in his previous 44 starts, had two wins and although he showed some flashes of brilliance winning an Atlantic Sires Stakes 'B' division in Summerside in 1:59.3, he struggled with consistency. That changed in 2011 hitting the board in 28 of 42 starts, and only missing four cheques all year. He gave his handlers the biggest thrill winning on Gold Cup & Saucer night at Charlottetown in a lifetime mark of 1:59.2.

Aged Mare
Tobins Paradise
Owner: Ultimate Stable
Trainer: Robert Laffin

Aged Horse
Real Bond
Owner: Ultimate Stable
Trainer/Driver: Robert Laffin

Groom of the Year
Kristen Quinn Phillips

Rookie of the Year
Dale Spence

Standardbred Canada Owner of the Year
Janet Shanks

Trainer of the Year
Robert Laffin

Driver of the Year
Gilles Barrieau

Horseman of the Year
Mitchell Downey

Downey has dedicated countless hours in the pursuit of moving harness racing in New Brunswick and all of Canada forward. He currently sits on the Coard of Directors of Standardbred Canada, as well as Horse Racing New Brunswick, and is the Vice President of the SJHHA.

Horse of the Year
Moon Landing
Owner/Trainer: Patrick Eastwood

(With files from SJHHA)

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal