PEISHOA 2023 Awards Presented

Photos from the PEISHOA Awards Banquet
Published: April 19, 2024 11:49 pm EDT

The Prince Edward Island Standardbred Horse Owners Association (PEISHOA) Awards Banquet was held on Friday, April 19 at the Rodd Charlottetown Hotel with a large crowd in attendance to see the stars of the 2023 harness racing season honoured.  

Again, this year the PEISHOA recognized six more horsemen, adding them to the Harness Racing Industry Builders Wall of Fame. This year’s inductees include Don and Ian Smith, Tom MacPhee, Barney McGuigan, Len Walsh and Bill Lanigan. The PEISHOA is pleased to continue to recognize horsemen who have had a huge impact on P.E.I. harness racing over the years and have truly helped build this industry.  

To complete the awards night evening, organizers presented a panel discussion drawing upon the perspectives of a unique horsepersons' panel made up of three different generations of horsemen – Brian MacPhee, Corey MacPherson and Brett Clow. 

Below is a list of all the winners.

Horse Awards:

Horseperson Award Winners:

  • Rising Star – Shawn Murphy
  • Female Groom of the Year – Kayla Gallant
  • Male Groom of the Year – Ryan MacLauchlan
  • Rookie Driver of the Year – Brett Clow
  • Leading Percentage Driver – Marc Campbell
  • Leading Dash Winning Driver – Marc Campbell
  • Leading Percentage Trainer Between 25-75 Starts – Mike Dowling
  • Leading Percentage Trainer Over 75 Starts – Colin Johnston
  • Leading Dash Winning Trainer – Jen Doyle
  • Appreciation Awards – Tracy Campbell, Heather Dorsey & Blaine Baglole
  • Standardbred Canada Owner of the Year – Arnold Hagen
  • Arnold Weeks Sportsmanship Award – Ambyr Campbell
  • Horsewoman of the Year – Michelle Myers
  • Horseman of the Year – Corey MacPherson
  • Industry Builders – Don Smith, Ian Smith, Barney McGuigan, Tom MacPhee, Leonard Walsh and Bill Lanigan
  • Kentucky of Canada Award – Canada's Pacing Queen, So Much More
  • P.E.I. Breeder of the Year Award – Gary MacPherson

Photos clockwise from top left: David MacKenzie, Manager of Red Shores, presents Horseman of the Year to Corey MacPherson; Jennifer Evans from Ocean 100 presents Horsewoman of the Year to Michelle Myers; the large crowd on hand at the awards banquet; Newest inductees to the Harness Racing Industry Builders Wall of Fame, Tom MacPhee, Don and Ian Smith, Bill Lanigan, Barney McGuigan and Len Walsh.

(With files from PEISHOA)

Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.