More Accolades For Katz & Libfeld

Published: April 15, 2017 06:01 pm EDT

Standardbred breeders Marvin Katz and Al Libfeld were named Equestrian Canada's 2016 Canadian Breeder of the Year at the annual Awards Reception, presented by Boehringer Ingelheim, on April 8 in Vancouver, B.C.

Equestrian Canada (EC) honoured some of Canada’s outstanding equestrians, organizations and horses during its Awards Reception. Held in conjunction with the EC Annual Convention, April 7-9, the Reception celebrated the national award recipients for 2016, and their impressive achievements within the equestrian community.

“We are proud to recognize the incredible accomplishments within the Canadian equestrian industry over the past year,” said EC Chief Executive Officer, Eva Havaris. “The quality and quantity of the nominations for 2016 were extremely high, which is a testament to the world-class athletes, owners, officials, organizations, volunteers and supporters found within the Canadian equestrian community. Congratulations to all the deserving winners.”

The Canadian Breeder of the Year Award was created to recognize Canadian breeders who have displayed incredible dedication to the Canadian equestrian industry through efforts to improve the quality and enhance the reputation of Canadian bred horses.

This year’s recipients, Marvin Katz of Toronto and Al Libfeld of Pickering, Ont., are renowned for developing one of the most respected and successful breeding enterprises in the harness racing industry.

Katz and Libfeld entered into their breeding partnership with the goal and plan of becoming market breeders of trotters to fill the void in the North American market. Thanks to their many years of experience, along with careful selection of individuals and bloodlines, Katz and Libfeld soon began producing champions for their yearling buyers.

In 2016 alone, horses produced by the Libfeld/Katz breeding partnership won 29 races and earned purses in excess of $1.3 million. Their top horses were Ariana G, who won more than $800,000, and All The Time, the winner of the Hambletonian Oaks who racked up nearly $450,000. Katz and Libfeld also saw success in 2016 with Princess Aurora, a two-year-old trotting filly who won over $300,000, and O Narutac Perfetto, who brought in $100,000.

In light of their incredible success, Katz and Libfeld were named the 2015 and 2016 O’Brien Award recipients for Armstrong Breeders of the Year, which is the highest honour awarded to Standardbred breeders in Canada. They also received the U.S. Dan Patch Award for top breeder in 2016. EC is pleased to add the 2016 Canadian Breeder of the Year Award to their list of accolades.

The following is a complete list of the 2016 award recipients recognized for their equestrian-related achievements.


Lifetime Achievement Award
Cara Whitham

Volunteer of the Year, Presented by Henry Equestrian
Anne Welch

Equestrian of the Year - The Dr. George Jacobson Trophy
Eric Lamaze

Junior Equestrian of the Year - The Gillian Wilson Trophy, Presented by Asmar Equestrian
Carmen Holmes-Smith

Horse of the Year – The Hickstead Trophy
Fine Lady 5

Owner of the Year
Artisan Farms

Canadian Bred Horse of the Year, Presented by Equinety XL
One Hot Krymsun
Breeder: Herb Best

Canadian Breeder of the Year, Presented by John Deere
Marvin Katz & Al Libfeld

Boehringer Ingelheim Equestrian Canada Health & Welfare Award
New Stride Thoroughbred Adoption Society

Equestrian Canada Media Award – The Susan Jane Anstey Trophy
Spruce Meadows Television


Arabian Horse of the Year
PA Julius Caesar ++++/
Owner: Lorraine Prowse

Half-Arabian Horse of the Year
Qaracas CSF ++++/
Owner: Kristen MacGarva

Morgan Horse of the Year
Attn Postmaster
Owner: Mackenzie Collins

Saddle Seat Rider of the Year
Sara Sheppard

Welsh Pony of the Year
Beaverwood’s Cinnamon
Owner: Kirsten Brunner


Coach Developer of the Year
Betty-Ann McPhedran

Community Coach of the Year
Gabriele Klotz

Competitive Coach of the Year
Sandra Donnelly


Dressage Athlete of the Year
Belinda Trussell

Dressage Horse of the Year

Dressage Owner of the Year
Robyn Eames & Mark Trussell

MH Lessard Dressage Volunteer of the Year
Renee DeGarie

Jumping Official of the Year
Michel Vaillancourt

Jumping Owner of the Year
Artisan Farms

Jumping Sponsor of the Year
Younger-Millar Family

Greenhawk Jumping Volunteer of the Year
Marjorie Dennis

(With files from Equestrian Canada)

Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.