view counter
view counter

Awards Handed Out In Newfoundland

Published: March 9, 2015 4:45 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

Awards were handed out this past Saturday night (March 7) on ‘The Rock,’ as the Newfoundland Harness Horse Owners Association feted its top horses and horsepeople from the 2014 season of racing.

The NHHOA’s annual awards dinner and dance banquet took place at The St. John's Racing & Entertainment Centre.

Attendees helped honour Inspired Art, the now-10-year-old Artiscape gelding that was named the club’s Horse of the Year off the strength of seven wins at the track in 2014.

The list of award winners from Saturday night appear below.

Horse With The Most Wins (Seven Wins)
• Inspired Art
• Son Of Rocknroll

Dave Macroberts Memorial
• Jim Flynn

Trainer With The Most Wins
• Scott Forward (19 Wins)

Driver Of The Year
• Brad Forward (16 Wins)

Driver With The Most Money
• Brad Forward ($4,772)

Most Gentleman Driver
• Bill Taylor

Grooms Of The Year
• Kyle Burton
• Morgan Sheppard

Most Improved Horse
• Canadian Mint

Top Trainer UDR Rating
• Danny Williams .460

Horse With Fastest Time
• Dusty Lane Wild Bill (2:02)

Gordon Ash Award
• Jim Hare

Standardbred Canada Owner Of The Year Award
• Danny Williams

Rookie Of The Year
• Danny Williams (.412)

Most Improved Driver
• Colin Sheppard

Top Driver (10-19 Starts)
• Colin Sheppard (.398)

Top Driver (20-39 Starts)
• Danny Williams (.412)

Top Driver (40-Plus Starts)
• Brad Forward (.501)

Top Two- Year Old Colt
• Maajaackkobe

Top Three-Year-Old Colt
• Son Of Rocknroll

Top Two-Year-Old Filly
• Silverhill Legacy

Best Newcomer
• Go With It

Mare Of The Year
• Our Ryall Flush,

Horse Of The Year
• Inspired Art (Seven Wins)

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal