Florida USHWA Doles Out Hardware

Published: March 6, 2021 03:33 pm EST

Four members of the Florida Chapter of the United States Harness Writers Association were out Saturday morning at Sunshine Meadows Equestrian Center, making trophy presentations to last season’s winners.

Due to the pandemic, the Florida USHWA Chapter was forced to cancel its 2020 awards dinner and went out to the training centre to bring the trophies to the award winners at the facility.

On hand for the presentations were Florida Chapter President Steve Wolf, Chapter National Director and Treasurer, Thomas H. Hicks, Chapter members Victoria Howard and Bob Marks.

Florida Harness Racing Hall of Fame induction trophies were presented to Tony Alagna, Tom Merriman and Casie Coleman Herlihy (for Ed James) for McWicked.

Other awards presented went to Peter Wrenn, the Stanley Dancer Award for training trotters, Casie Coleman-Herlihy, the Frances Dodge Van Lennep Award to an outstanding female in the sport, two president’s awards to Myron Bell of The Deck and to Ongait.com’s Eric Cherry and Maurice Chodash.

Each award winner also received a printed copy of the awards journal that was never printed as last year’s dinner was canceled due to COVID-19 lockdown.

The Florida Chapter of USHWA thanks Chris Tully for doing all of the photography for the chapter at Sunshine Meadows and fellow chapter member Thomas H. Hicks for providing bagels, cream cheese and butter for The Deck.

(Florida Chapter of USHWA / Photos: Chris Tully)

Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.