view counter
view counter

USHWA Florida Delivers Awards

Published: March 4, 2021 10:39 am ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

Some of the harness racing horsemen in the backstretch at Pompano Park Wednesday morning (March 3) received a pleasant visit from representatives of the Florida Chapter of the United States Harness Writers Association.

Chapter president Steve Wolf and chapter national director and treasurer Thomas H. Hicks were visiting certain stables and presenting awards from last season that were not given out due to the pandemic.

“We held off hoping we could do a presentation event,” said Steve Wolf, “That did not work out and Tom Hicks said let’s go to the backstretch and start giving out the trophies and I agreed.”

Being honoured with their plaques were trainers John Hallett, as the Dan Gawlas Good Guy Award winner; Mike Murphy and longtime blacksmith Phil Cable, who each earned Lifetime Achievement Awards. The Caretaker of the Year award went to Joe Kroll, who had since passed away. Trainer Jim McDonald accepted the award for Joe’s wife, Shawna.

The Florida Chapter of USHWA will be traveling to Sunshine Meadows Equestrian Village in Delray Beach Saturday morning. At "The Deck", members will be presenting awards including Florida Harness Racing Hall of Fame induction trophies to Tony Alagna, Frank Antonacci and Tom Merriman. President’s Awards will be presented to Myron Bell, Eric Cherry and Maurice Chodash and Peter Wrenn will receive his Stanley Dancer Award.

You can follow the Florida Chapter of USHWA via their website or on Facebook.

(USHWA / Florida Chapter)

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal