view counter
view counter

Warrawee Koine Ends Year With Win

Published: December 30, 2011 10:09 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

Warrawee Koine captured the final $42,000 Fillies & Mares Open Pace of 2011 at Woodbine Racetrack on Friday night and pushed her career earnings over the half-million dollar mark in the process.

Driven by 2011 O'Brien Award finalist Jody Jamieson, the black mare left alertly from Post 2 to establish the early lead in the 10th race on the card. Warrawee Koine led the single file field of seven to the opening quarter in :27-seconds and into the backstretch before being confronted by the pocket-pulling 4-5 favourite, Rebeka Bayama (Sylvain Filion).

Rebeka Bayama pushed ahead by half a length as they hit the half-mile marker in :57 and eventually cleared to command during the third panel. Meanwhile, Dreamfair Eternal (Chris Christoforou), reigning Horse of the Year and 2011 Older Pacing Mare of the Year finalist, launched her attack from fourth with Didrickson (Randy Waples) following her cover.

Rebeka Bayama raced to three-quarters in 1:25.1 and spun into the home stretch with Warrawee Koine on her back and Dreamfair Eternal looming in the first over position.

Midway down the lane, Warrawee Koine snuck out of the pocket between Rebeka Bayama and Dreamfair Eternal and she surge ahead in the final strides to score the 1:52.4 victory. Rebeka Bayama missed by a neck while Dreamfair Eternal finished one length behind in third. Didrickson was fourth and Voelz Hanover (Mario Baillargeon) finished fifth.

Warrawee Koine ends her five-year-old campaign with a record reading 11-6-4 in 31 starts and a bankroll totalling $293,340. The Astreos-My Gal Hall mare, winner of 23 races and $513,298 lifetime, is trained by Colin Johnson and owned and bred by Dr. Michael R. Wilson of the 2011 Armstrong Breeder of the Year nominated Warrawee Farm.

Warrawee Koine paid $19.30 to win as the 8-1 third choice.

To view Friday's harness racing results, click on the following link: Friday Results - Woodbine Racetrack.

view counter

© 2020 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal