view counter
view counter

Drivers Set To Clash In Quebec

Published: October 8, 2015 10:07 pm ET

No Comments | Jump to Comments

Harness racing fans in Quebec are in for a special treat this Sunday as the Hippodrome 3R will host its 4th annual Drivers’ Tournament.

The tournament will feature nine top drivers competing in nine races on the program with more than $3,000 in cash and prizes to the winners of the competition.

And the race fans will also be involved in the competition. First there will be a meet and greet with all the drivers before the race program gets underway at 12:15 p.m. Fans can get autographs and photographs with their favourite drivers plus they will have the opportunity to try and correctly select the first three official finishers in the tournament for cash prizes.

Special guest drivers are Simon Allard and Robert Shepherd along with the seven leading drivers this season at Hippodrome 3R. They are Denis St. Pierre, Mario Charron, Stephane Brosseau, Stephane Gendron, Jocelyn Gendron, Pascal Berube and Louis-Philippe Roy.

Perhaps the “rising star” of the race meet has been Louis Philippe Roy, 25, of Mont-Joli, Quebec, who enters the tournament for the first time.

“As it's only my second year as a professional driver,” Roy explained, “I didn't expect to among the top drivers in 3R this year, but some trainers had confidence in my driving skills, they gave me a chance to show it and it turned to be a very good year.

“Being in the tournament is kind of a wrap-up of this good year,” Roy said. “And I'm very happy that tournament includes the seven top drivers as it allows me to be in it.

“The draw today will tell a lot,” Roy explained, “I just need some racing luck and to get on some good horses to drive. There are some great drivers among these guys, and it will be exciting to compete against them in the tournament. If I am fortunate enough to win, then that would be the greatest. I am honoured just to be in the tournament.”

The point system for the tournament that will be used is 1st place 50 points, 2nd place 25 points, 3rd place 12 points, 4th place 8 points, 5th place 5 points and 6th place 2 points.

Prior winners of the tournament were Jody Jamieson (2014), Yannick Gingras (2013_ and Daniel Dube (2012).

First race post time for the first race Sunday is 1:30 p.m. For more information visit


view counter

© 2020 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal