Bythemissal Repeats As Ohio Horse Of The Year

Published: January 14, 2024 10:02 am EST

For the first time in nearly 30 years, Ohio’s reigning Horse of the Year has won the honour in back-to-back years.

Bythemissal was named the 2023 Ohio Horse of the Year at the Ohio Harness Horsemen’s Association Annual Awards Banquet on Saturday, Jan. 13.

Bythemissal, who was named the 2023 Dan Patch Older Male Pacer of the Year, hit the board in 14 of his 16 starts and earned more than $1.03 million during his four-year-old campaign in 2023. Owned by Burke Racing Stable, Eric Good, Rich Lombardo Racing and Weaver Bruscemi, and bred by Stephen Dey lll, the son of Downbytheseaside won the Breeders Crown, the Sam McKee Memorial, the Myron Charna President’s Pace, the Aria Invitational Pace, the Allerage Open Pace and the Potomac Pace. 

“This is the best horse I have trained since Sweet Lou,” said trainer Ron Burke. “As a three-year-old, he was outstanding. As a four-year-old, he was great.  I honestly think as a five-year-old he’ll be the best horse in America. This is a great horse.”

The last horse to earn back-to-back Ohio Horse of the Year honours was Crisp Sahbra in 1995 and 1996.

(With files from Ohio Harness Horsemen’s Association)

Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.