view counter
view counter

O'Brien Awards: General Information

Established in 1989 to honour the absolute best in Canadian harness racing over a given year. These are the highest honour the sport bestows upon its stars. The O'Briens are hosted by Standardbred Canada.

Number of Awards
Eighteen O'Brien Awards will be given out for the 2018 racing season. Thirteen of these honour the premier horses over the past racing season including the most coveted trophy, Canada's Somebeachsomewhere Horse of the Year. The horse awards are divided by age, sex and gait.
In addition there are five awards for people, one each for Driver of the Year, Trainer of the Year, Future Star Award, Armstrong Bros. Farm Breeder of the Year and the O'Brien Award of Horsemanship.
The O'Brien Award of Horsemanship recognizes the Standardbred participant who best exemplifies the standard of horsemanship demonstrated by Joe O'Brien. Nominees are persons involved in more than one aspect of the industry and can be trainers, drivers, owners or breeders.
Standardbred Canada has established a committee of eight that determines the candidates for potential nominees for both the O'Brien Award of Horsemanship and the Armstrong Bros. Farm Breeder of the Year
Hilton Mississauga /Meadowvale
6750 Mississauga Road,
Mississauga, ON, L5N 2L3
Phone: 905-821-1981
For Hotel Reservations Call:  1-855-757-4862
O'Brien Guest Room Rate - $119 (limited number available and must be booked before January 16, 2019)
February 2, 2019
Nominees in each category will be released in December, 2018 and the winners announced at the O'Brien Awards.
5:30 p.m.  Cocktail reception - Graydon Hall Foyer
7:00 p.m.  Dinner & Awards Presentation - Graydon Ballroom

Black Tie
Rent frock Repeat will be partnering with the O'Brien Awards and a promo code will be available soon.

$200 per person which includes HST.
(Visa & Mastercard Accepted)
May be obtained by calling the Industry Marketing Department at Standardbred Canada at 905-858-3060
Tables of 8 or 10 are available but must be reserved by January 16, 2019

Standardbred Canada AGM - Saturday, February 2 - 1:00 p.m.
Hilton Mississauga /Meadowvale  - Brittania Room
More Information Contact
Kathy Wade Vlaar: [email protected] (905) 858-3060 ext 207.

view counter

© 2019 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal