view counter
view counter

2020-2022 Director Elections

Proposed By-Law Amendments for Ratification

Questions regarding nomination or election should be directed to the Corporate Secretary.

As a result of the nominations received for Standardbred Canada Director, below are the profiles of the candidates running as SC Director. 

Applications for Director nominations closed Thursday, October 31, 2019 at 5:00 p.m. (ET) with the following results.

There were five acclamations:


Track Director - Paul Ryneveld, Rockyview, AB


Active Director - Richard Veilleux, St-Hughes, QC
Breeder Director - Denitza Petrova, Melbourne, QC
Track Director - Murielle Thomassin, Trois Rivieres, QC


Track Director - Lee Drake, Charlottetown, PE

Nominations for the Standardbred Canada Board of Directors 2020-2022 appear below. To read the profiles of Director nominees, click on the candidates whose named are underlined.

Ballots will be counted on Thursday, December 12, 2019. Results of the election will be posted as soon as they are available.


Active Director Nominees (1 to be elected)

Blair Corbeil, Beaumont, AB
Dean Rey, St. Claude, MB

Breeder Director Nominees (1 to be elected)

Kathy Coonfer, Olds, AB
Heather Davies, Surrey, BC
Colleen Haining, Lacombe, AB
Dr. Maurice Stewart, Leduc County, AB


Active Director Nominees (2 to be elected)

Blair Burgess, Campbellville, ON
Ryan Clements, London, ON
Mark Horner, St. Marys, ON
Alex Lilley, Dutton, ON
Jeffrey Wellwood, Toronto, ON
James Whelan, Troy, ON

Breeder Director Nominees (2 to be elected)

Gerry Belore, Mt. Elgin, ON
Bill Manes, Rockwood, ON
Ann Straatman, Lucan, ON
Craig Turner, Ingersoll, ON

Track Director Nominees (2 to be elected)

Thomas Bain, Woodslee, ON
Ian Fleming, Londesborough, ON
Bill McLinchey, Plattsville, ON


Active Director Nominees (1 to be elected)

Dawn Hubbard, Greater Lakeburn, NB
Brad McCallum, Upper Onslow, NS
Mike McGuigan, York, PE
Blaine McKenna, Elmsdale, PE
Nicholas Oakes, Warren Grove, PE
Andrea Rennison, Truro, NS

Breeder Director Nominees (1 to be elected)

Jamie Whalen, Vernon River, PE
Tony Zuethoff, Pictou, NS

The online election process for members will commence at 11:00 a.m. (ET) on Thursday, November 7 and will close on Thursday, December 12 at 11:00 a.m. (ET).

Notice of Election - October 2019 Trot Magazine

Call for SC Director Nominations

Have You Ever Considered Being on the Board of Standardbred Canada?

Role/Responsibilities of an SC Director

SC Active/Breeder Director Nomination Form
(Active/Breeder Directors must be nominated by SC Active/Breeder members)

SC Racetrack Director Nomination Form
(Track Directors must be nominated by a racetrack)


view counter

© 2019 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal