view counter

2017 World Driving Championship | Competing Drivers

Here is a look at the complete field and the countries that they represent:

  • Australia - Shane Graham

  • Austria - Gerhard Mayr

  • Belgium - Rik Depuydt

  • Canada - James MacDonald

  • Finland - Mika Forss

  • Malta – Noel Baldacchino

  • New Zealand - Dexter Dunn
    (defending champion)

  • New Zealand - Mark Purdon

  • Norway - Eirik Høitomt

  • Sweden - Björn Goop

  • United States - Marcus Miller

The 22-race competition takes place at five different racetracks in four different provinces. Drivers earn points based on their finishing position and the top point earner at the end of the 22 races will be declared the 2017 World Driving Champion and win $25,000 in prize money.

The first leg kicks off at Century Downs Racetrack and Casino in Balzac, Alberta on Saturday, August 12.

Following the first leg in Alberta, the drivers will then head to Ontario for the next two legs. Mohawk Racetrack in Campbellville will host the second leg on Monday, August 14, and that will be followed by the third leg at Georgian Downs in Innisfil on August 15.

The action then moves to Trois-Rivières, Quebec on Wednesday, August 16, where Hippodrome 3R will host the fourth leg of the WDC before the drivers head to Prince Edward Island and Red Shores Racetrack and Casino at Charlottetown Driving Park for the fifth and final leg of the Championship on Friday, August 18, one of the major highlights of Old Home Week.

view counter

© 2021 Standardbred Canada. All rights reserved. Use of this site signifies your agreement and compliance with the legal disclaimer and privacy policy.

Firefox 3 Best with IE 7 Built with Drupal