Awards Doled Out On PEI

“We went to a race one time, we bought a ticket and we loved the feel of the race and said, ‘It’s time to own one.’”

On Friday, April 10 at Credit Union Place in Summerside, PEI, the Prince County Horseman's Club held its annual awards dinner.

As an article by Jason Simmonds for the Journal Pioneer explains, Ed Doucette and Lynn Livingstone were respectively named the club’s horseman and horsewoman of the year.

“My dad (the late Lloyd Doucette) always had a horse, and I got the bug from him actually,” Doucette was quoted as saying. “I find the best part is the people.

“You go to race, and there is a great partnership group now, we have a lot of fun and everywhere you go the people are great.”

In regard to receiving her award, Livingstone – whose quote serves as the lead for this story – told the Journal Pioneer that “it’s one of my thrilling moments.”

Simmonds also wrote a piece on Carrera Angel, the 10-year-old son of Camluck that was named the club’s Horse of the Year. The gelding’s trainer, Rocky Shurman, said that his pupil had a “great year” and that “he just seems to get better every year.”

The list of award winners appears below.

Prince County Horsemen’s Club 2014 Awards

Lifetime Membership Award
• Art Rogers

Leading Dash Driver Winner
• Jason Hughes

Leading Dash Trainer Winner
• Jason Hughes

Top Percentage Driver (50-Plus Drives)
• Gilles Barrieau

Top Percentage Trainer (50-Plus Starts)
• Jason Hughes

Top Percentage Driver (25-49 Starts)
• Rocky Schurman

Top Percentage Trainer (25 To 49 Starts)
• Earl Watts

Grooms of the Year
• Leah Craig and Ryan DesRoches

Two-Year-Old Pacing Filly of the Year
• Dusty Lane Bria

Two-Year-Old Pacing Colt of the Year
• Camco Titan

Two-Year-Old Trotting Filly of the Year
• Paymenowpaymelater

Three-Year-Old Pacing Filly of the Year
• Elm Grove Inarush

Three-Year-Old Pacing Colt of the Year
• Arties Magic

Three-Year-Old Trotting Filly of the Year
• Southfield Shadow

Three-Year-Old Trotting Colt of the Year
• Dusty Lane Galaxy

Aged Trotting Mare of the Year
• Pure At Heart

Aged Trotting Horse of the Year
• I Aint No Lady

Claiming Mare of the Year
• Onehotvett

Claiming Horse of the Year
• Flaming Prince

Trotter of the Year
• Lyrical Lindy

Pacer of the Year
• Bad Date

Aged Pacing Mare of the Year
• Keystone Nobility

Aged Pacing Mare of the Year
• Blu Meadow Willie

Horse of the Year
• Carrera Angel

Breeder of the Year
• Windemere Farms

Frank Daniels Memorial Award
• Robbie Shaw

Standardbred Canada Owners Of Year
• Sheldon and Jackie Rogers

Philip and Henry Doucette Memorial Lifetime Achievement Award
• Lester Chappell

Garth Schurman Memorial Award
• Garth Cole

Horsewoman of the Year
• Lynn Livingstone

Horseman of the Year
• Ed Doucette

Joe O’Brien Memorial Award
• Bob Bowness

(With files from the Journal Pioneer)