Florida Hall Of Famers Announced

The Florida Chapter of the United States Harness Writers Associations president, Steven Wolf, has announced the award winners for the 2014 harness racing season.

They will be honoured at the association’s 24th annual Hall of Fame Awards Dinner on Friday, January 30, 2015 at the Elks Lodge in Pompano Beach.

Elected to the chapter’s Hall of Fame, which recognizes special individuals who have been outstanding leaders within the industry for more than ten years and who have contributed to the betterment of the Standardbred Industry, are owner, breeder, trainer, Tom Audley of Bell, owner/breeders Anthony Amante & Christine Garrity of Amante Standardbreds of Delray Beach and owner/trainer Lou Rapone of Pompano Beach.

Also being inducted on the equine side into the Hall of Fame is Amante Standardbreds' great Florida-sired pacer, Hearty Fellow. He raced only at Pompano Park his entire career, nine straight years with 50 career victories and earnings of over $380,000.

Winner of the Delvin G. Miller Award, which recognizes someone or an organization whose life in harness racing reflects dedication and integrity furthering the growth of the sport, goes to former harness racing driver Lucien Fontaine of Margate.

The Stanley Dancer Award, which recognizes achievements of a trainer who has been continuously outstanding in the development of young trotters, goes for the second time to trainer Lou Ginesi of Deerfield Beach.

The William Popfinger Award for developing outstanding juvenile pacers goes to trainer Mike Deters of Coconut Creek.

The Frances Dodge Van Lennep Award, which recognizes an outstanding female who has made great contributions to the sport, goes to Carol Macomber of Fort Lauderdale.

The winner of the Allen J. Finkelson Award recognizes an individual in the sport who has contributed to the positive promotion of the Standardbred industry and being honoured this year is Victoria Howard of Boca Raton.

Winner of the R.D. Ricketts Award, presented to an owner whose contributions to Florida racing have been outstanding, is Laurie Poulin of Okeechobee.

The winners of the Dana Irving Award for breeding excellent juvenile performers in 2014 are Kim and Jay Sears of Osteen.

The Peter Haughton Award for the best newcomer to Pompano Park goes to Aaron Byron of Canada who is now one of the leading drivers at Pompano this season.

The Dan Gawlas Good Guy Award, presented annually to an outstanding individual who has always contributed positively to the sport, goes to Dr. Marah Lee of Lauderdale By-The-Sea.

The Florida USHWA Chapter’s Lifetime Achievement Award goes to long-time owner Heddy Nelson of Tamarac.

The annual Caretaker of the Year Award will be presented to an outstanding individual who, over his or her career, has dedicated untiring time and efforts caring for the horses in the stable(s) they worked for. This year’s honouree will be announced shortly.

In addition to the Florida USHWA chapter’s awards, presentations will also be made by the Florida Standardbred Breeders and Owners Association to the owners of the top two- and three-year-old state-bred trotters and pacers from the 2014 season and the annual Breeder of the Year Award. The Florida Amateur Driving Club will also present their year-end awards.

Tickets are $65 per person for the full course dinner that begins at 6:00 pm with a one-hour open bar with appetizers. Tables of ten are available. For more information, to purchase tickets, or place a congratulatory ad in the program book, please contact Rosie Huff at the Florida Standardbred Breeders Office at 954-972.5400, [email protected], or Steven Wolf at 954-654-3757, [email protected].

(Florida USHWA)

Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.