Jeremes Jet Fillies Sweep Kin Elims

Jet Speed pulled off a 21-1 shocker while heavy favourite Memumsnotnice delivered on her pari-mutuel promise in a pair of $10,000 Kin Pace eliminations for Ontario sired three-year-old pacing fillies on Sunday afternoon at Clinton Raceway.

Jason Brewer engineered the winning trip for upsetter Jet Speed, who rallied three-wide from the backfield to prevail in 1:58 flat. Silky Britches (Trevor Henry) finished over two lengths behind off a pocket trip while pacesetter Regal Attitude (Mark Etsell) ended up third. Hnt Angel (Paul MacKenzie) was fourth.

The Jeremes Jet-Star Siren filly, who returned a whopping $44 to her backers for a $2 win ticket, is trained by Murray Brethour for Ontario owners Douglas Millard of Woodstock and David Heffering of Port Perry. She was purchased for $40,000 at the 2010 Harrisburg Yearling Sale.

Jet Speed has earned three wins, one second and two thirds thus far in her 16-race career while banking $27,680.

Entering the race off an Ontario Sires Stakes Grassroots victory at Rideau Carleton Raceway last Sunday, Memumsnotnice took command from post three with Sylvain Filion aboard and went wire-to-wire to win the faster elimination in 1:57.1 by one length. Bruisers Sister (James MacDonald) advanced first over to place while Sauble Claire (Trevor Henry) came in third over pocket-sitter Insincerity (Paul MacKenzie).

Corey Johnson trains for owners Colin Johnson of Le Gardeur, Que., Gilles Caouette of Garson, Ont., Claude Baril of Mascouche, Que., and Fred Brayford of Alliston, Ont., who put up $15,000 for the Jeremes Jet-Bunny Town miss at the 2010 Canadian Yearling Sale. She paid $2.40 to win.

Memumsnotnice now boasts five wins, two seconds and four thirds on her lifetime record with $91,360 banked in purses. Her biggest paycheque to date was earned with a second-place showing in her $100,000 divisional Grassroots Championship last season.

The Kin Pace is for non-winners of $75,000 in 2011. The $85,000 (est.) final, scheduled for next Sunday, July 1, will be limited to the top eight money winners declared from the eliminations.