Jamieson To Receive Canadian Colours


Jody Jamieson, Canada’s representative to the 2011 World Driving Championship, will be presented with his Canadian driving colours at Mohawk Racetrack this Sunday

, May 22 during the Campbellville track’s annual Fireworks and Family Fun Night.

The presentation will take place in the winner’s circle after Race 5.

Prior to that, the 34-year-old resident of Moffat, Ont., who has recorded over 5,800 wins and steered horses to earnings in excess of $78 million, will be on hand to meet and greet racing fans from 5:00 to 5:30 p.m. At 5:30 p.m. he will help educate potential racing fans in a beginners’ betting seminar.

Standardbred Canada will have a 'good luck' banner available for fans to sign. Jamieson’s National Driving Championship trophy will also be on display.

This will be the fourth time Jamieson will take part in the World Driving Championship. In 2001, Jamieson won the WDC hosted in Finland and Sweden. In 2003, he was runner up in the WDC hosted in Canada. He also took part in the 2005 WDC hosted in Italy.

On Saturday, May 7, Jamieson earned the honour of representing his country by winning Standardbred Canada’s National Driving Championship at Red Shores Racetrack and Casino at Charlottetown Driving Park. Jamieson notched four wins and two seconds to give him a final point tally of 81, twenty-four points ahead of runner-up Gilles Barrieau, who won the event in 2007.

“I couldn’t be happier,” Jamieson said during the winner’s presentation. “Honestly, when I first signed the contract to represent Woodbine at the regionals my goal was to win the whole thing. To be lucky enough to win the regionals and win the National Driving Championship, I’m so thrilled there is only one more thing to win and that’s the World Driving Championship. I’m really pumped about it. I can’t wait.”

The 2011 World Driving Championship will be hosted by the United States Trotting Association from July 31 to August 5. The 20-heat tournament will feature one driver from 10 countries, including Jamieson, the reigning World Driving Champion Birger Jørgensen of Denmark, Enrico Bellei of Italy, Michael Nimczyk of Germany, Björn Goop of Sweden, Franck Nivard of France, Juan Antonio Riera-Rosello of Spain, Chris Lewis of Australia, Dexter Dunn of New Zealand and Jason Bartlett of the United States.

The doors will open at Mohawk on Sunday at 5:00 p.m. for the annual festivities. Racing will begin at 6:30 p.m. Once racing concludes, fans can stay for the dazzling fireworks show, which is scheduled to kick off at 9:30 p.m.

Have something to say about this? Log in or create an account to post a comment.