Manitoba Honours Its Best Of 2019

The annual Manitoba Harness Racing Awards Banquet was held in Miami, Manitoba this past Saturday (Feb. 29).

The list of award winners appears below, but the banquet was headlined by Prairie Mystic, who was named Horse of the Year for the stable of Don Howlett.

Jacques Lambert took home the hardware for Horseperson of the Year and Trevor Williams took home the Ron Waples Award for industry leadership.

The full list of award winners appears below.

Two-Year-Old Manitoba-Bred of the Year
• Lightnin N Thunder

Three-Year-Old Filly of the Year
• Birds I View

Three-Year-Old Colt/Gelding of the Year
• Saskabush Steve

Top Manitoba-Bred
• Saskabush Steve

Sire of the Year
• Armbro Baylor

Broodmare of the Year
• JK Fantasy

Standardbred Canada Manitoba-Bred Owner of the Year
• Cory Manning

Top Trainer Under 30 Starts
Wins – Jacques Lambert
UDR – Blake Piwniuk

Top Trainer Over 30 Starts
• Don Howlett

Top Driver Under 30 Starts
Wins – Jacques Lambert
UDR – Ryan Grundy

Top Driver Over 30 Starts
• Don Howlett

MHHI Lifetime Achievement Award
• Jim Jeffers

Rookie of the Year
• Jacqueline Grundy

Caretaker of the Year
• Julie and Jasmine Lambert

Owner of the Year
• Ralph Morrow

See Me Go Award of Sportsmanship
• Aurel Vodon

Horseperson of the Year
• Jacques Lambert

Ron Waples Award
• Trevor Williams

Claimer of the Year
• Red Star Tiger

Aged Mare of the Year
• Noisy Nora

Aged Horse/Gelding
• Prairie Mystic